Be Your Own Muse

Standard

When, in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes,
I all alone beweep my outcast state
And trouble heaven with my bootless cries
And look upon myself and curse my fate,
Wishing me like to one more rich in hope,
Featured like him, like him with friends possess’d
Desiring this man’s art and that man’s scope,
With what I most enjoy contented least;
Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising,
Happily I think on thee, and then my state,
Like to the lark at break of day arising
from sullen earth, sings hymns at heaven’s gate
For thy sweet love remember’d such wealth brings
That then I scorn to change my state with kings.

–William Shakespeare Sonnet XXIX

Shakespeare’s sonnets are punctuated by un-named, often remote-seeming lovers who supply the narrator strength, courage and depression-lifting qualities. The muses, in Greek mythology, were the divine daughters of Zeus who presided over the arts. Writers and and artists of all stripes credit the muses with the inspiration needed to create. “Musing”on their beauty, perfection and ethereal un-attainability is credited in lifting artists to a higher realm of creation, flow and access to strength, love, articulation and expression.

We are all creators, narrators of our own lives. We are creating what exists moment to moment. I believe there are divine principles, that when followed allow us to experience the higher realms of creativity, flow, articulation and expression. This elevation is available to us at all times. Often, we look outside ourselves for sources of strength and inspiration, but what if we woke up every morning deciding, “we’re” the one we’ve been waiting for? What if we choose to find love by BEING love, choose to find inspiration by BEING inspiration? We can elevate ourselves to that higher realm of creative living we all aspire to, and become the muse, not only for ourselves, but for all we meet.

PFA124418 Lassitude, 1910 (oil on canvas) by Godward, John William (1861-1922)
oil on canvas
105.5×60
Private Collection
© Bonhams, London, UK
English, out of copyright

Leave a Reply

